Berry Business

What a disheartening sight:

 strawberry local

Had Albert and I kept up with strawberry planting, we could have had all the strawberries we could eat for free.  But our old berry patch wore out two years ago and we neglected to plant a new one.  So now, when we want to enjoy a quart of strawberries, we have to pay through the olfactory organs just like everyone else.

When strawberries are ripe and plentiful in my garden, I’m not opposed to sharing them with the chickens.  Stems with lots of juicy red goodness still attached and berries with a soft spot are tossed whole into the scrap pail.

I’m much more stingy with berries I have to pay for.  Soft spots are carefully carved out and the old girls are lucky to get an entire stem, never mind any strawberry.  They lament our failure to plant new strawberries too.

Thankfully, next summer will be different (d.v.). Two months ago, I made a trip to the nursery and bought five hundred strawberry plants.   Their names sound rather like performer’s stage names at a men’s club, but that may be just me.

 strawberry names

I decided to buy only two varieties that day and anyway, they were fresh out of Amber and Tonya.  We planted them over a 500 square-foot patch and they’re thriving.

strawberry blossoms

I snap the blossoms from the plants as they appear.  This reminds the plants to put their efforts into growing big, green and bushy so that they’re able to produce many times the amount of flowers next spring.

If all goes well between now and then, Albert will enjoy strawberries, sliced and sprinkled with sugar every day for the entire month of June.  Because although Albert isn’t much of a strawberry picker, he loves to eat them.  This played itself out in our very first berry patch…

Albert and I went into the garden to pick a pail of strawberries.  That is, I got down on all fours and picked while Albert, all gallantry, stood watch and held the pail.  I didn’t object until I looked up and caught him eating berries, but not from the patch.  From the pail.

In terms more blunt and less civil than the ones I’m about to use, I let him know exactly which principles of his act would render stewardship of the pail untenable should it be repeated, ever.  Not that it did much good.  He still only eats strawberries that I pick but at least now, he waits until they’re on the table.pail

I can’t wait to resume my old routine next year – picking strawberries for Albert and me and sharing them with the chickens.  I’m not opposed to sharing them with other humans, either.  So come ‘n’ get ’em!  If I know you’re coming, there’ll even be ice cream.

strawberry clipart

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2013 at 10:34 am

    funny! well if that is a formal invite, then I will be there!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2013 at 10:36 am

    anonymous hmmm you and me is like two peas in a pod!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    As always , I love readying your blogs Tina. You have many fun hobbies:) Wish I had your energy and creativity.

    Reply

  4. Next summer, we have a strawberry date!!

    Reply

  5. My boys, like Albert, love strawberries. It’s a shame we can’t have strawberries. Talk about a savings that would be! Wow.

    Reply

    • You’re right. The savings are almost immeasurable because when we grow strawberries at home, we eat way more of them than when we have to buy them because the patch produces all the strawberries we can eat, for nothing more than the cost of the plants.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

