Hunting Flint and Other Things

A friend of a friend of mine has discovered treasure in our back field that we never knew we possessed: flint.  Not just any flint, but supposed shards of flint left over by Native Americans when they fashioned arrowheads from the abundant flint rock that littered the land.  My friend-once-removed produced these stones as evidence.  He says the place is crawling with them.

Our back field

I wish I were an archeologist.  Then I could know whether human hands had carved those jagged sides or if they’re just ordinary pieces of shattered rock.  I picked up one of the stones and imagined that I held in my hand a relic from centuries past; a flint shard carved by a strong, silent brave who shaped an arrowhead from the rock with which to hunt big game for his tribe.  I held the stone up to my ear and listened for a sound or a sigh to echo some sort of message from the past until my friend said dryly,

“It’s not a seashell.”

There are two facts which support my friend’s friends’ claim.  I’ll call him Bruce.  Wait, that’s his real name.  First of all, hunting for remnants of flint carvings is a real and popular hobby.  Secondly, my friend (I’ll call her Helena, but her real name is Charlotte) and I crept Bruce’s facebook profile because Helena is smitten with Bruce…but maybe “perused” is a better word than “crept”.  Why do we use a word that denotes underhandedness to describe what is nothing more than natural curiosity?  What is the purpose of posting something on facebook or any other website if we don’t want people to look at it?  But I digress.  We perused Bruce’s facebook profile and found a picture of him posing beside another man.  Together, they hold a case that displays about a hundred arrowheads of different shapes and sizes.  Both men are grinning proudly; the passion for their hobby is evident.

Until Bruce’s discovery in our field, I never thought about who may have lived in it before.  Whether the stone shards are flint shavings or not, it’s reasonable to suppose that Native Americans lived in the field at some time.  I wondered who they were and whether they were any better at timing their crop planting in this confoundedly hard clay soil than we are.  I like to think that they were a noble, visionary people, maybe partners in the Coalition of Tribes to Abolish Scalping, or something.

Helena is so intrigued with the flint pieces that she has decided to take up flint hunting.  Helena would study mating habits of the Yosemite toad if it helped her to gain Bruce’s approval, but I admit, I’m rather intrigued by the stones too.  Maybe one I’ll join their hunt, with Helena’s consent, of course.  I have no wish to interrupt an intimate pow-wow.  It might be fun to search for fascinating relics in our back field.  According to Bruce, the place is crawling with them.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a great adventure! You could make a party out of it (potential love-birds permitting, of course). Picnics and treasure-hunting go hand-in-hand you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

