My dream house

I dream of living in a century-old two-story Victorian home with a many-gabled roof, wrap around porch and lots of stained glass windows.  That’s my fantasy.

This is my reality.

The Mobile Manor

We might be able to afford such a house if we chose to live in town on a small lot.  But we can’t afford the house I want on a little farm.  We can afford a mobile home on a little farm.  And although Albert is an extrovert with more friends than he can count, he feels claustrophobic if our neighbor’s house can be seen without a telescope from our place.  I console myself with the thought that only true bohemians and artists live this way by choice.  It works pretty well some days.

On a Sunday after church and lunch, we’ll often go to an open house when there’s a particluarly beautiful house for sale.  They’re typically in town and we have no intent to buy, but it allows me to gaze and to dream.  Yesterday, I was standing in a glazed brick foyer admiring a stained glass entry window in downtown London when behind me, I heard the starchy-suited realtor proudly inform Albert that this house stood in a much-desired location.  I stifled a chuckle at Albert’s dry “Uh huh” and considered that if she’d told him that the price of diesel was due to jump 150%, he could not have sounded less impressed.

I’ll just have to wait for my mansion in Heaven.  From all I’ve heard, it’ll never have to be rebricked, retrofitted or rewired, and it’s contractor is the best carpenter ever to come out of Nazareth.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suzen on January 12, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    lol cute.

    Reply

  2. I understand your dream because I have the same desire. I live in a little bungalow, in town, and dream of a big old farmhouse and wide open spaces. At least we can dream 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

